Emotional Blackmail

Hi Guys,

So today’s film that I was supposed to be seeing and reviewing for you was going to be Rush but I have been emotionally blackmailed by my parents into babysitting. This means no perving on Chris Hemsworth (Damn 😦 ) and that I shall instead be staying in and watching a DVD. Now I was going to watch Silver Linings Playbook which I hadn’t actually seen and heard good things about, but my boyfriend hasn’t seen Looper and I’m up for anything with Joseph Gordon-Levitt in (Love him, so adorable!). So that’s that! This week shall be a re-view review of Looper as well as my usual outfit of the day, though as I’m staying in will probably be nothing exciting.

Also as of next Wednesday I am flying off to the windy city of Chicago! You cannot believe how excited I am and how hard I’m struggling not to pack every outfit I think of. Now this sadly means that there will be no film review posts for the next two Wednesdays but I promise to keep you updated on my trip, outfits & general experience, as well as a big update when i’m back 🙂 !

looper posterImage taken from IMDb.com

What’s it about?

In 2074, when the mob wants to get rid of someone, the target is sent 30 years into the past, where a hired gun awaits. Someone like Joe, who one day learns the mob wants to ‘close the loop’ by transporting back Joe’s future self.

Taken from IMDb.com

What did I think?

Although it’s not the easiest film to get your head round, trust me I remember trying (and failing) to explain to my parents what was going on, once you get the hang of it its a really good film! Ok so its not a film you can just put on and fall asleep to, it does require a bit of attention, but if your up for it give it a go.  Bits of the film can be pretty grim, particularly one scene near the beginning of the film (if you’ve already seen it I’m pretty sure you’ll know), so it may not be for everyone. I’d say its a bit like Inception in a way, if you liked and understood that, then this might be worth checking out. As much as I absolutely love Joseph Gordon-Levitt the makeup they put on him to make him look like a young Bruce Willis can be a little distracting (he looks weird!). Anyway lets just say there’s a reason everyone gave it five stars when it came out and on my second viewing I still enjoyed it as much as the first.

Would I recommend? 

Yes I would, like I said probably not everyone’s cup of tea and for those of you who want to dreamily watch Joseph Gordon-Levitt (like me), then maybe watch 500 Days of Summer instead because he’s not that sweet & he looks a bit odd at times. That aside if you haven’t seen it and enjoy these kind of films definitely give it a watch!

What I Wore

20130919-103815.jpg

As I was convinced to babysit, instead of making my usual Wednesday trip to the cinema, I kept today’s outfit simple and most importantly comfortable. I chose to stick on a pair of black leggings as they’re much comfier to lounge around in than my usual jeans or shorts & tights and I plan to consume my weight in sweets & chocolate, so restrictive clothing was not an option. I then went for my loose basic vest top, which (and this is important) covers my bum! If there’s one thing that really bugs me when it comes to other peoples outfits, is when a girl wears leggings like they are trousers, this is made especially worse if they are:

a). Baggy
b). See-through
OR
c). Both of the above

Not a good look ladies come on, cover up your bum! I don’t want to be able to see what underwear you’ve got on underneath – no matter how good you arse is! Anyway rant aside, I also chose this over-sized Aztec print cardigan which I love because its so snugly & comfy, perfect for cuddling up on the sofa. I felt that I was missing a bit of sparkle, so I added this simple black pendant necklace that I had recently received from a friends as a belated birthday gift. Hair wise I went for a top knot so it wasn’t in my way and just some simple makeup seeing as I wasn’t going anywhere, no winged liner today! Instead I just lined my lash line and applied a heap of mascara.

Black Leggings: Next
Wine Basic Vest Top: H&M
Over-Sized Aztec Cardigan: New Look
Black Pendant Necklace: Accessorize

So what do you think? What’s your off-duty look? Any recommendations for places to visit in Chicago?

Leave me a comment and let me know 🙂

X

Leave a Reply

