Guess Who’s Back Old Sport

Hi y’all!

Just kidding I don’t say y’all. I’ve just got back from the USA (literally today) and am trying to fight off the jet lag while typing this. I had an amazing time and saw/did/ate loads of cool thing, so much so that I completely forgot to post. Sorry about that guys! In my defense I did try to upload a quick update post but my iPhone was having none of it, so that was the end of that. To make up for it I have a few posts planned, including possibly another nail tutorial & a 5 things I love about my country tag that the lovely Eleonora from Ellyinmakeupland tagged me in. Today’s post will be the usual film review, this time being on one of the films I watched on my trip home to England. I won’t be adding the usual OOTD part to the end of the post though, as I’m currently wearing an over-sized Iron Man t shirt and pajama bottoms plus I shall be uploading a post featuring some of my outfits from my time in Chicago. If you don’t already follow me on Instagram check out a few of my snaps I uploaded during my visit here or search @corranjc .

20131009-171450.jpgImage taken from Wikipedia.org

What’s it about?

A Midwestern war veteran finds himself drawn to the past and lifestyle of his millionaire neighbor.
Taken from IMDb.com

What did I think?

Having never actually read The Great Gatsby, I can’t tell you how true/untrue it is to the original story. That aside, not knowing the plot, I very much enjoyed the film. The music was not quite what you’d expect for a film set in that era but even that didn’t bother me too much and kind of added to my enjoyment being able to recognise some of the songs. The glitz and glamour of the film drew me in enough to distract me from my turbulent flight and the tragic tale of Gatsby left me a little sad. I loved Leonardo’s portrayal of his character and his almost obsessive love of Daisy was touching to watch. Overall I think the film was really good. I enjoyed it all from the story to the characters to the decadent scenes and can see now why there was/is a new trend of Great Gatsby style luxury.

Would I recommend?

Yes I would (I’m starting to feel like I always say that). Considering the fact that I wanted to see it ages ago when I first saw the trailer I wasn’t disappointed! If you love a bit of glamour then this is the film for you! Let yourself get drawn in by the costumes and the parties and enjoy!

Have you seen The Great Gatsby? Did it make you wish you were in the Roaring Twenties too?

Leave me a comment and let me know 🙂

X

Leave a Reply

