Captain Phillips & OOTD 9

Captain_Phillips_Poster
Image taken from Wikipedia.org

Rating? 12a

What’s it about?

The true story of Captain Richard Phillips and the 2009 hijacking by Somali pirates of the US-flagged MV Maersk Alabama, the first American cargo ship to be hijacked in two hundred years.

Taken from IMDb.com

What did I think?
Hmmm not quite sure what to say about this one. It was alright. Actually that’s a bit harsh, it was good! It just wasn’t great. As always Tom Hanks was pretty amazing in it but I think this is not one of his films that you can just keep rewatching. As far as the real story goes I didn’t actually know too much about what went on. I remember seeing bits and pieces about it on the news but as far as how true the film is to the story I wouldn’t be able to tell you. That aside it was a good film.

Would I recommend?
To watch? Yes. To see in the cinema? Not really. You could probably just wait till it comes on TV/DVD.

What I Wore
20131023-182952.jpg

It wasn’t too cold today so I decided to brave the weather in just a jeans, a top and coat. I chose to wear my plain black peplum top and its super comfy and its quite cute for just a plain top. I paired this with my jeans & boots to keep it casual and decided to dress it up with accessories. Now I chose this yellow necklace today because I love the way it stands out against my black top. I wore an outfit similar to this in Chicago and everyone complimented me on my necklace, so thought I’d recreate it. I ordered the necklace ages from E-Bay for a bargain £3 (!), after being inspired by a post on yellow by fellow blogger Shades of Lovely and am so glad I did. It’s the perfect pop of colour! To finish it off I went with my contrast mac, as its definitely not warm enough to go without a coat or jacket anymore (sadly). This coat was another one of my bargain finds, after I was searching high & low for an affordable mac that was a little bit different. I ended up stumbling onto this one in the most unlikely of places – Asda and for the amazing price of £20!20131023-183011.jpg

I kept my hair down (as per usual). I did contemplate a top knot but the thought of having chilly ears persuaded me not to. As for my makeup I chose to go back to my winged eyeliner as I was missing it (its been a while), choosing to create a thinner longer wing this time to make my eyes more cat like. As its starting to get colder I can see myself starting to slip into the rut of wearing jeans all the time which I usually try and fight off for as long as possible! I will try to wear something more exciting and no jeany next time I promise.

Black Peplum Top: New Look
Skinny Jeans: South
Wedge Ankle Boots: New Look
Yellow Statement Necklace: E-Bay
Colourblock Trench Coat: Asda
Charm Bracelet: Pandora
Watch: Marc Jacobs

Do you have an cold weather outfit ruts? What did you think of Captain Phillips?

Leave me a comment and let me know 🙂

X

One thought on “Captain Phillips & OOTD 9

Leave a Reply

