Monochrome Loving

Hi Guys,

This week is my one year anniversary with my boyfriend and I’m going out for a fancy meal. So I thought what better excuse to make an effort and dress up than this! Naturally I wanted something new so proceeded to order several outfits from Next & Very. I also finally purchased my sheer bomber jacket I’d been lusting over last week. Anyway here’s what I picked out.

outfit 1Dress – £16 at Next
Jacket – £55 at Next
Necklace – £18 at Very
Shoes – £27.99 at New Look

My first choice was this black sleeveless tube dress from Next. When I was searching I had a midi dress in mind and when this little number popped up at the bargain price of £16, I couldn’t help but order it! The dress comes in a couple of other colours/patterns as well as tall & petite sizes. I had originally wanted this in a petite grey but ended up with a regular black as all the other sizes were out of stock. I tend to order midi dresses in petite sizes as I don’t like them to be too long but when I tried this on the length wasn’t too bad (although petite probably would have been perfect). This dress is super flattering on and I’ll definitely be keeping it! I’ll pair mine with my beaded statement necklace, sheer bomber jacket (if I get slightly cold) and nude strappy heels to make my legs look longer- something I find a must with midi’s.

outfit 2Dress -£22 Glamorous at Very
Tights – £1.50 at Tesco
Necklace – £20 at Zara
Shoes – £27.99 at New Look

My next choice was this cute grey swing dress by Glamorous. I liked the look of this dress as I thought it would be easy to dress it up or down, so I ordered it in black & a short sleeved version in pink. However this grey one turned out to be the best (the pink looked like a kids nightdress)! I was pleasantly surprised with the fabric of this dress, with the black version coming in a basic jersey fabric, this colour however had a lovely super soft feel to it and was almost velvet like. This also meant that unlike the black it was not see-through at all, making it the winner! I decided to keep this one as well for another dinner date. I’ll wear mine with black tights, my Zara statement necklace and black wedge shoes (similar listed above) to dress it up a bit more.

Outfit 3Jumpsuit – £35 AX Paris at Very
Jacket – £55 at Next
Necklace – £18 at Very
Shoes – £19.99 at New Look

Lastly was this AX Paris two tone jumpsuit from Very. I’ve been longing for a jumpsuit since I sold mine and they came back into fashion (dammit!) and really liked the look of this one. However when it arrived I found myself very disappointed with the quality! It didn’t help that it was creased beyond belief but the the fabric of the bottom just looked so cheap and flimsy, I was instantly put off. I’ve seen similar more expensive versions from ASOS etc and may decide to invest in a higher quality version in the future. If I had decided to keep it I would have styled it with my sheer bomber, statement necklace and a pair of killer black heels.

20140501-084405.jpg
Here’s the real thing!

What do you think? How would you have worn yours?

Leave me a comment and let me know 🙂

X

2 thoughts on “Monochrome Loving

  1. Love all outfits! Great post!

    Could you check out my blog and follow it on bloglovin? I will follow back immediately!

    I have a new post every day!

    Stay fancy!
    xxx Kelly-Louise

    fancysince1992.blogspot.de

Leave a Reply

